Welcome to the University of Alberta!

The University of Alberta (UAlberta) has approximately 600 postdoctoral fellows, all of whom are valued members of the university community. 

As such, UAlberta provides services to meet the needs of our postdoctoral fellows to help foster their research training and professional development to help prepare them for the next step in their career.
There are many resources available to you and this website is your introduction to some of what is offered. 
If you have any questions please contact the Postdoctoral Fellows Office
• For information on accommodations, please view the Student's Union Rental Registry.
• For more information on Edmonton, view Edmonton.ca.
Changes to Postdoc status took effect November 1, 2017. This means that Postdocs and the U of A will be contributing to CPP and EI.

Please see this attachment for updated rates for CPP and EI and WCB for 2018.

PDF CPP-EI Calculator
Use this calculator to estimate the annual and pay period costs of Canada Pension Plan (CPP) and Employment Insurance (EI) deductions and costs for Postdoctoral Fellows.
EI & CPP Calculator (will download or open as an Excel file)

Please see the below memo for more details regarding the changes to status for Postdoctoral Fellows.

University of Alberta Post-Doctoral Fellow Categories


Quick Links


PDF Minimum Stipend
Effective September 1, 2017 is $37 795.86 

Based on Doctoral 12 hours/week - one month scale (x 1.5) 2017-2018 Award and Minimum Salary Rates

Cost of Supplemental Benefits Increase

Effective July 01, 2017,  the yearly cost of the postdoc supplemental benefits is $707.16 for single coverage; or $2 040.12 for family coverage.

In addition, effective February 01, 2016 the PDFAP (Postdoctoral Fellows Assistance Program) is $5.50 per month.

WCB is;

for 2018 is $0.14/$100 assessable payroll.
2018 maximum assessable earnings is $98,700
2018 maximum yearly deduction is $138.18.

*Please note, effective November 1, 2017 if your ONEcard indicates "Staff", you may use your ONECard to travel from Health Sciences to Royal Alexandra Hospital stations on the Metro Line, and from South Campus to Churchill stations on the Capital Line. Travel to other stations in the LRT system are not included in the Staff LRT program at this time.